Two Great New Songs From Chicago Artists


Yesterday Fort Frances released the second single from the 5-song EP No One Needs To Know Our Name(the first is called “Anonymous”). “These Are The Mountains Moving” is a slow-moving, heavily combustible rock song that feels like it could explode at any second. The piano interlude after the first verse and chorus is like a little breather before the guitars and synth come in with a vengeance.


When I saw Ezra Furman play live a couple weeks ago, he brought out a couple new tracks and they sounded great. It’s no surprise that “Lousy Connection” is fantastic as well. He’s gone full-on with the 50’s-style doo wop sound that Day Of The Dog sometimes hinted at. This is also the second single from Ezra’s new record, Perpetual Motion People, and it’s pretty different from the sunny “Restless Year.” The track features some great sax work by Tim Sandusky toward the end.